Sowell Collection Conference

Deadline: September 15, 2019
Contact: Diane Warner

Sowell Collection Conference
Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas
Proposal Deadline: Sept. 15, 2019

Featured speakers: Barry Lopez and Stephen Graham Jones

The Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library of Texas Tech University is once again celebrating the Sowell Collection, Oct. 10-12, 2019. All events are free and open to the public. Panel and paper proposals will be accepted until Sept. 15, 2019. Both scholarly and creative proposals are encouraged. We hope that all proposals connect with the writers in the collection and the themes and issues that the writers explore.

Created through the generous support of former Texas Tech University Regent James Sowell, the Sowell Collection contains the personal papers of some of the most prominent writers on the natural world. Writers of the Sowell Collection include Rick Bass, Lisa Couturier, Max Crawford, David James Duncan, Gretel Ehrlich, Paul Hawken, Clyde Jones, William Kittredge, John Lane, Barry Lopez, Bill McKibben, Susan Brind Morrow, Gary Paul Nabhan, Andrea Peacock, Doug Peacock, Robert Michael Pyle, David Quammen, Marc Reisner, Pattiann Rogers, Sandra Scofield, Annick Smith, and Ro Wauer. Newly added collections include those of writers Stephen Graham Jones, Michael Koepf, Howard Norman, and J. Drew Lanham and additional papers from Gretel Ehrlich and Rick Bass.

Sponsored by the Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library.

There is no registration fee required for presenters or members of our audiences. We ask only that you make a donation to our new Sowell Collection Endowment fund.

If you have any questions, please contact Diane Warner (

Diane Warner, Ph.D.
Librarian for the Sowell Family Collection
In Literature, Community and the Natural World

Posted on September 9, 2019