Leadership & Staff


Amy McIntyre
Managing Director
Amy McIntyre has been Managing Director of ASLE since October, 2004. She previously worked with the Monadnock Institute of Nature, Place and Culture, the New England Center for Civic Life at Franklin Pierce University, and the Children’s Museum of Portsmouth (now Children’s Museum of NH).

Elected Officers

Stacy Alaimo

Stacy Alaimo is Professor of English at the University of Texas at Arlington

Jeffrey Cohen

Jeffrey Jerome Cohen is currently Professor of English at the George Washington University. He will become Dean of Humanities at Arizona State University in July 2018.

Nicole Seymour
Vice President

Nicole Seymour is Assistant Professor of English
at California State University Fullerton.

Anthony Lioi
Immediate Past Co-President

Anthony Lioi is associate professor of Liberal Arts and English at the Juilliard School in New York City, and the founding director of Juilliard’s writing center.

Christoph Irmscher
Immediate Past Co-President

Christoph Irmscher is Professor of English at Indiana University, Bloomington.

Laura Barbas-Rhoden
Co-Diversity Officer

Laura Barbas-Rhoden is Professor of Spanish at Wofford College.

Gisela Heffes
Co-Diversity Officer

Gisela Heffes is Associate Professor of Latin American Literature and Culture at Rice University

April Anson
Graduate Student Liaison (senior)

April Anson is a PhD candidate and the Jane Campbell Krohn Fellow in Literature and the Environment at University of Oregon.

Executive Council

Greg Garrard
Term: 2016-2018

Greg Garrard is Associate Professor, Sustainability, at University of British Columbia, Okanagan. He was Chair of ASLE-UKI from 2004-2009.

Lilace Mellin Guignard
Contingent/Independent Advocacy Officer Term: 2017-2019

Lilace Mellin Guignard teaches part-time at Mansfield University, and is also their part-time Director of the Institute of Science and the Environment.

Heather Houser
Term: 2016-2018

Heather Houser is Associate Professor of English at the University of Texas, Austin and Associate Editor for Contemporary Literature.

Andrea Knutson
Term: 2018-2020

Andrea Knutson is Associate Professor of English at Oakland University.

Julietta Singh
Term: 2018-2020

Julietta Singh is Associate Professor of English
and Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at the
University of Richmond.

Priscilla Solis Ybarra
Term: 2017-2019

Priscilla Solis Ybarra is Associate Professor of English at the University of North Texas, specializing in Chicana/o Literature and Theory and Environmental Literature and Ecocriticism.

Coordinators and Liaisons

Karla Armbruster
Executive Secretary

Karla Armbruster is associate professor and chair of the English Department at Webster University in St. Louis, MO. Karla has previously served as ASLE President and Executive Council member.

Kristin George Bagdanov
Graduate Student Liaison (junior)

Kristin George Bagdanov is currently a PhD student in English Literature at U.C. Davis, where she studies 20th century and contemporary ecopoetics.

Scott Slovic
ISLE Editor

Scott Slovic is Professor of Literature and Environment and Chair of the Department of English at the University of Idaho. Scott was the founding President of ASLE.

Tom Hillard
Book Review Editor, ISLE

Tom J. Hillard is an Associate Professor of English at Boise State University. From 2005-2007, he served as one of ASLE’s Graduate Student Liaisons, and from 2008-2010 was a member of the Executive Council.

Chia-ju Chang
International Co-Liaison

Chia-ju Chang Associate Professor of Modern Languages and Literatures at Brooklyn College.

Andrea Casals
International Co-Liaison

Andrea Casals teaches literature at Universidad Catolica de Chile

Lauren LaFauci
International Co-Liaison

Lauren LaFauci is an Assistant Professor at Linköping University

Elizabeth Dodd
Mentoring Program Co-Coordinator

Elizabeth Dodd is University Distinguished Professor in the Department of English at Kansas State University.

Erin James
Mentoring Program Co-Coordinator

Erin James is Assistant Professor of English at the University of Idaho

Heather Sullivan
Professional Liaison Coordinator

Heather I. Sullivan is Professor of Modern Languages and Literatures at Trinity University.

Tova Fleming
Digital Strategies Coordinator

Tova Fleming is a student in the Environment & Community: Master of Arts program in Social Science at Humboldt State University

Janine DeBaise
Environmental Creative Writing Book Award Coordinator

Janine DeBaise writes poetry and creative non-fiction, and teaches writing and literature at SUNY-ESF

Salma Monani
Ecocriticism Book Award Coordinator

Salma Monani is Assistant Professor at Gettysburg College’s Environmental Studies department.

Nicholas Bradley
Coordinator, Graduate Student Paper Awards

Nicholas Bradley is assistant professor of English at the University of Victoria.